Need help with plant simulation in moving pot
Hi! Crossposting from reddit to increase chance of getting help.

Tyflow noob here, really could use some help. I've been trying for a few days to simulate a plant in a moving plantpot for uni work (a little robot plant pot to be specific) and I just can't get it to work as I want...

Here's a render of my little fella with the plant I want. It's a central thick stem with attached branches, with the leaves as a separate alpha-textured object, though I can easily break things apart/combine things if needed. About 13 separate meshes.

[Image: BaseColour.png]

And here's the finished motion (minus plant) alongside some camera tracking; it's a bit jank but I think he's cute. He's panicking because the plant needs water and is scrambling to go get some.

[Image: wolk.gif]

As you can see, the pot the plant is in is moved around by the robot's walking/scrambling and so the plant would also be jostled about in turn.

To sum up, what I want is for my plant to react realistically to the way the robot moves around; stem firm but still bends a bit, and leaves following the stem/branches but much less rigid. The whole plant (or at least the stem base) is bound to where it meets the soil, but the rest is free to wobble and sway.
All the tutorials I can find are either for falling leaves (not helpful) or for static trees reacting to wind. I tried seeking out things like cloth on a character, but that didn't help either. I'm losing the will to keep trying but it's the last part of my animation and I really need it to function so any help would be appreciated.

If there's an easier way to do this than what i've described below, let me know! I just found the closest thing I could and gave it a go, but.. it doesn't work right now. Maybe I'm going about it the wrong way? You guys would know better than I would.. ^^;